Your success is my success, sister
I was never trying to compete
I was never trying to outrun you
in this “race”
I aspired to be running along with you
Next to you
Feeling the same sun on my face.

Your happiness is my happiness, sister
I was never trying to outshine you
I was merely trying to stay alight.
I wanted to illuminate my own world
I was never trying to cast a shadow on yours
I was merely trying to be alright.

Your struggle is my struggle, sister
I have always been fighting beside you
Never against you.
Stop being to afraid of me;
I am not the enemy,
I am not the patriarchy.

Your goal is my goal, sister
Do not lose sight of what that goal is.
Do not be fooled into thinking
that pulling your sisters down
will make you stronger.
Stop fighting me, sister.
I know well what we have been taught by the patriarchy
But I am not your enemy.